Gear List 2015 [updated 02/21/15]

Based on my work yesterday with my gear list I made a few, small changes without having to purchase anything. I’ve italicized these changes from the previous gear list. Obviously, the biggest monster is my pack. Until I feel my budget will allow for a purchase of another pack, I’m stuck with it. But a few small changes can make a difference. [Update 2/15: I finally did purchase a lighter pack with my tax refund. I ended up getting the ULA Ohm 2.0. So far, I’m really happy with it, but haven’t trail-tested it, yet.]

photo (9)

Solo Gear List (or with a group with no sharing) [as of 02/21/15]

  • ULA Ohm 2.0 (31 oz)
  • TarpTent Notch (31 oz)
  • Tyvek homemade tent footprint (2.45 oz)
  • Feathered Friends Petrel UL 10F bag (will bring thermal liner if less than 20F predicted) (33 oz)
  • Nylon stuff sack (0.8oz)
  • Thermarest NeoAir Women’s XLite(11 oz)
  • [If cold temperatures are predicted, I will add a Thermarest Ridgerest Solite closed cell pad  (9 oz) as well]
  • Cooking System: Home-made Fancee Feest Stove, Snow Peak 700 minus lid, home-made lid out of Aluminum flashing, home-made reflectix cozy, GSI mini pot gripper, Light My Fire Collapsible Cup, Aluminum foil windscreen, titanium spork, mesh carry bag (8.65 oz)
  • Mini Scripto lighter (0.40 oz)
  • Small box of matches (0.20 oz)
  • Suunto A10 compass (1.05 oz)
  • First Aid Kit (2.25 oz)
  • Repair Kit (0.5 oz)
  • Tooth brush and small tube of paste (1.0 oz)
  • Small tube of sunscreen (0.4 oz)
  • Chapstick (0.3oz)
  • Outdoor Research Helium II rain jacket (5.7 oz)
  • Turtle Fur Fleece hat (2.35oz)
  • Thermal liner gloves (0.7oz) (may add another glove layer for really cold trips)
  • Darn Tough Merino Sleeping socks (5.4 oz)
  • Top and bottom merino baselayers (16 oz)
  • REI Revelcloud primaloft-fill hooded jacket(15.15 oz)
  • One platypus collapsible bottle ( 0.90 oz)
  • One deer park 1L water bottle with duct tape wrap (1.0oz)
  • Aqua Mira liquid water treatment (3.15 oz)
  • Outdoor research (1.75 oz) and Sea to Summit (1.6 oz) SilNylon bags for organization
  • 50 ft of Nylon rope (3.45 oz)
  • Energizer 7-level Headlamp (3.3 oz)
  • Leatherman small knife (2.50 oz)
  • small bottle of eco-friendly liquid soap (1.2 oz)
  • Grabber Hand Warmers (1.65 oz)
  • Bandana (1.15 oz)
  • Toilet kit (wet wipes and hand sanitizer) (3.0 oz)
  • Trash compacter bag for liner (2.45)

Total Base Weight = 11 lbs 8 oz

When I first published my gear list, I had somehow calculated 24lbs base weight. I was happy when I recalculated everything today to see that I had made a calculation error. I am still wavering on the Fancy Feast vs. Trangia + Caldera Clone set-up. The Trangia + Caldera clone weighs 5.7 oz more, but produces a boil in half the time and with a lid for snuffing out the flame and reserving the remaining fuel. Are the additional ounces worth it? The 5.7oz are almost the same weight as 8fl oz of fuel.

What could I do to further reduce my base weight?

1) Sleeping bag–In warmer weather I can definitely go with a lighter bag. I’ve been eyeing the ZPacks 20F bag (16.7 oz). I am a cold sleeper and would definitely want the 20F for the High Sierras. This would save me 16 oz or a pound of weight.

2) Shelter–Bring just the tarp during the warmer weather or purchase a cuban fiber tarp like this one from Six Moons Designs

Leave a Reply

