Winning the Lottery–JMT Permit is confirmed for late July

glacier point half dome

On February 5, I got some great news: my application for a permit to begin hiking the JMT at Happy Isles through to Whitney portal was accepted. I won the permit lottery! Apparently, you have something around a 10-20% chance of winning the permit lottery, so I felt very lucky indeed.

I had spent a good 30 minutes between 9:00 and 9:20AM EST trying to fax in my application. The fax machine in the school will try the number once more if it is busy. After 20 minutes of trying, I had nearly given up, when low and behold on the second -try of a fax after about the 10th busy signal, my faxed permit application went through at about 9:20 EST. Now, all I could do was cross my fingers and wait.

Around 2pm that day, I got an email confirming that I had won a permit through the lottery including the hike up Half Dome. Yes! I was ecstatic. It made the trip this summer even closer to reality.

John Muir

Information on obtaining your permit can be found:

Leave a Reply

